Access from Off Campus
Remote access to databases using EasyPass
What is EasyPass?
EasyPass is a component of larger mechanism designed to provide Westminster Choir College and Rider University students,
faculty, and staff with remote access to web-based, licensed databases. EasyPass
essentially functions as an intermediary between our computer hardware (servers) at the
library and the licensed databases. When a username/password is entered into EasyPass,
it enables seamless access to those databases whose licenses have been negotiated for offcampus access.
Who needs it?
If the following conditions apply, and you want to be able to access databases and
electronic journals from home, you’ll need an EasyPass account:
- You are not dialing in through the Rider University modem bank. If you are
dialing into the Rider modem bank, you won’t require an EasyPass account, as
similar authentication is required for dialup access through the modem bank.
Accessing the internet by dialing into the Rider modem bank is really only
practical if you are a local resident. Otherwise, it is a toll call.
- You are dialing in through an internet service provider (ISP) such as MSN, AOL,
EarthLink, etc.
Troubleshooting EasyPass:
The Libraries cannot troubleshoot EasyPass problems. This is taken care of by staff at
OIT at Lawrenceville (extension 7000).
The Libraries can try to assist you if there are problems with an actual database. If you
are being denied access:
- Make sure you are actually logged into your EasyPass account. OIT lists not
being logged in to EasyPass as a common reason for people being denied access.
- Make sure you are trying to get into a database that is authorized for off-campus
access. Most are, but there are a few that are specific to people registered
individually on Princeton and Lawrenceville campuses.
- Try some other databases to make sure the problem isn’t isolated to a specific
database.
- Also, please be aware that if you are accessing the Internet through a firewall at work or home that the firewall may prevent you from using EZProxy.
If you are having difficulty accessing a database, please provide the following
information to ensure a proper diagnosis:
- What email address and telephone number can you be reached at?
- What is the database you were trying to access?
- Did you try any other databases? If yes, which ones, and did they work?
- What web broswer/version (Netscape 4.1, Explorer 5) are you using?
- Can you get into any other EasyPass services? (go to http://easypass.rider.edu)
- At what time were you denied access?
- Had you previously been able to access this database?
To reset an EasyPass password:
To reset an EasyPass password:
You can now
reset your EasyPass online. If you need further assistance with EasyPass,
please contact the OIT Help Desk at x3000 (students) or
x7000 (faculty/staff).